We were liars

Uncategorized

IMG_6195

A book about an astronaut who gets lost in space.

A story about a girl with 50 lives.

A story about the trees and their leaves.

The history of a king with 3 beautiful daughters.

A story about the sea and his limits.

We were Liars by Emily Lockhart. The most shocking book I’ve ever read. With shocking I mean the one that has surprised me the most with the story.

IMG_6165

I chose this book because I saw a lot of people being very enthusiastic about it. I decided to buy it after I saw it was in sale. After buying the book, I read a lot of the reviews again. They kept talking about the shocking anticlimax at the end. I was so curious, that I started reading it.

IMG_6166

Emily Lockhart has a very good sense of writing. If that even exists. She writes very smooth and suspense. Suspense by using short sentences with double meanings. She uses a lot of metaphors in this book, which made it a little difficult for me to read at the start, but after a while you get used to it. She made some things very clear but by repeating it she made me very insecure about me understanding the book. Which is funny, because I didn’t know that a book was able to do that.

The story is brilliant. It’s about a family, the Siclairs, who goes to a private island every summer. They are very rich. But their are these 4 friends, they call themselves the liars, who are always together. A certain summer, something happens on the island with Cadence (the storyteller) and she can’t find out what happened. She lost her memories at that certain moment. So, she tries to find out what happened to her.

The end is something I never expected. And I recommend this book especially because of the anticlimax. It’s an easy-read, so I think you can handle the book even if you don’t like reading, or if you don’t read a lot.

IMG_6191

WE WERE LIARS – E. LOCKHART (+/- 200 pages): 

We are Sinclairs.

Beautiful. Privileged. Damaged. Liars.

We live, at least in the summertime, on a private island of the coast of Massachusetts. 

Perhaps that’s all you need to know.

Read it.

And if anyone asks you about it:

Just LIE.

Leave a Reply

